//
you're reading...
council, family, gay, hate, homosexual, LGBT, research, shoot, violence

Gunman Opens Fire on the FRC

A gunman walked into the Family Research Council and opened fire on a security guard after making comments denouncing the organization.  Fortunately, no one was killed, but the guard was injured. 
Violence is spreading.  It disgusts me that people who are on my side of the argument have gone past speaking up and protesting and have now been violent.  I will denounce these people every bit as adamantly as I do the other side who commit acts of violence.  It is never right.  The end.  No discussion.  
That doesn’t mean I agree with anything the Family Research Council does or says.  They are a hate group.  In part, they have just reaped what they have sown.  Hate breeds hate.  Anger breeds anger.  It is a short step from anger to violence.  In fact, I’ve been saying for years that Westboro needs to stop doing their protests.  Partially because I think it is detestable.  Also because I truly believe that someday a loved one of whomever’s funeral they are protesting is going to snap under the grief and anger and hurt or kill someone.  People can only be pushed so far before they snap.  They will eventually begin to fight back.  As long as groups like Westboro and the FRC continue to push against homosexuals, they will be in danger of suffering such attacks. 
Let me reiterate what I said earlier.  I don’t condone this.  This person has no excuse.  He can protest.  He can boycott.  He can find a stage and speak out against the hate.  But there is no excuse for hurting people on either side of the equation.  I have gay friends, and I can guarantee you that they would agree with me.  What I’m saying is that it doesn’t really surprise me. 
Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

