//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Facebook’s Refusal to Shut Down Video of Woman’s Murder Disgusts Public [Graphic adult content]

Cross-posted from The American Complaint Department magazine.

Last Updated 4/27/13 – 1:21 am

This story is filled with depictions of death and other adult content. Please do not continue if you are sensitive to depictions of death and mutilation. Parental discretion is advised.

Facebook wallTonight a friend of mine on Facebook shared a video that she thought was disgusting. I’m not sure why she shared the video, but I watched it to see what the outrage was about. What I saw was absolutely disgusting. The video depicts a young woman who has her hands tied behind her back sitting on her knees. A man in a mask is holding her hair. [Stop now if you are not an adult or are sensitive.] The man begins to cut the woman’s throat. He repeatedly moves around her neck with the knife slashing and cutting. Eventually, he cuts through her entire neck and removes her head. In the end, he holds her head up for the camera to see.

This is not the first beheading video I’ve seen. I’ve seen videos of terrorists beheading people in the past. It literally turns my stomach. The fact that people further this garbage by sharing it online is just as bad. What really disgusts me is the response of Facebook to the video. At least one person I spoke with about the video said they immediately reported it to Facebook as graphic violence. She received a response from Facebook shortly after she reported the video and here is their response:

Facebook Response 1

This is incredible. According to Facebook, a video of a woman being beheaded does not violate their policy against videos depicting graphic violence? Seriously? Beheading a woman doesn’t violate your policy, but a woman breastfeeding does? I can’t say that the video is real. I also can’t say it’s fake. Either way, it depicts extremely graphic violence. Remember that this video is out there for children as young as 13 to watch. And, let’s be honest, there are plenty of children under 13 on Facebook as well.

I checked Facebook community standards to determine why they say it doesn’t violate their policy. This is the policy:

“We understand that graphic imagery is a regular component of current events, but must balance the needs of a diverse community. Sharing any graphic content for sadistic pleasure is prohibited.”

The fact that the person that posted it posed the question about whether this guy belongs in jail or not makes no difference. This video does not belong on a social networking site. The person whom I spoke with received her response shortly after 7 p.m. est this evening. As of 10:45 p.m. est the video is still available. I have chosen not to share a link or the video because we at TACD are not interesting in perpetuating the glorification of this type of violence. A screenshot of the video (before the graphic violence which we will not show) is below.

Graphic Image 2Many of the comments on the video are from people who are disgusted that it is on Facebook.  Multiple questions have been posed as to how it has not been removed.  Some people said that the video made them physically ill. At this time, Facebook has not responded to requests for comment about the video and their refusal to remove it. Updates will be published as they are available.

Dislike

Added images not posted on TACD News Magazine. 

As a blog, I can post images that are not appropriate for the magazine.  The graphic sections of these images have been blocked out and the face of the victim has been blurred. I assure you, the censoring is completely my doing.  The video, although poor quality, shows the graphic violence in full horrible detail. AGAIN…DO NOT, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES, CONTINUE IF YOU ARE NOT 18 YEARS OLD OR ARE SENSITIVE TO GRAPHIC AND/OR VIOLENT IMAGES.  PARENTAL DISCRETION IS STRONGLY ADVISED.  DO NOT CLAIM THAT I DIDN’T WARN YOU REPEATEDLY. 

Graphic Image 3 copy Graphic Image 4 copy Graphic Image 5 copy

Update 4/27/13 – 1:21 am

According to the person who posted the video, it was posted because he believes the police should see the video and he wants the person who committed the act to be brought to justice.  When asked if he believed the video to be real, he said that he believes it is.  His understanding is that someone in the victim’s family didn’t pay a debt to the killer on time so he found a family member to punish.  When confronted with the fact that the video can be viewed by under-age children, the poster said that they could see this on the internet regardless of whether he posted it.  His final message about the video…”justice should come into this”.

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Facebook’s Refusal to Shut Down Video of Woman’s Murder Disgusts Public [Graphic adult content]

  1. Just found this and wanted to update you – this is indeed, still up. It was shared to my wall today. I’ve had panic attacks all day because of it…only clicked it because I figured it was some sort of news report 😦

    Posted by Mandie Morrison | April 29, 2013, 3:17 am
  2. I ONLY CLICKED ON THIS VIDEO MYSELF BECAUSE I CAME ACROSS IT WHILE CHECKING MY SONS FACEBOOK WHO IS UNDER THE AGE OF 18 WHICH IS SOMETHING I OFTEN DO AS I WATCHED THE VIDEO I FELT ILL AND IT WAS MUCH MORE THAN JUST SICKNESS I FELT. I CAN NOT GET THE IMAGES OUT OF MY HEAD DAY OR NIGHT I HAS BEEN 48 HOURS SINCE I VEWED IT I AM GALD IT WAS ME WHO SAW IT AND NOT MY SON WHO NOLONGER HAS A FACEBOOK ACOUNT .

    Posted by SHIRLEY YVONNE BOWIE | April 29, 2013, 7:48 am
    • well, arent you a good parent, which dont allow your son to be in contact with his friends.

      because there is some bad stuff, doesnt mean that you have to take it all away.

      Posted by Tom | April 29, 2013, 5:37 pm
      • Because there is ‘bad stuff’ as you say, means you have a duty to protect young ones from it. Exposing kids to this kind of violence, for no other reason than it being there, is likely to have little benefit. Moreover, it will probably do more harm than good. My son saw this video and hasn’t slept properly since. Facebook policies are meaningless if they fail to deliver what they state. There is no effective way for them to block access to anyone under age and thousands of kids under the age of 12 have a Facebook account. Facebook are aware of this. So to allow this kind content and say “It does not violate their Community Standards” is frankly, laughable. The same can’t be said for images containing nudity where their approach is inversely proportional. There is ‘bad stuff’ in this world and there will always be ‘bad stuff’ so we should endeavour to protect our kids as best we can. We don’t want them growing up to believe this kind of thing is OK to watch. That just propagates this behavior.

        Posted by Nigel | April 30, 2013, 3:20 am
  3. Someone has started a petition…

    http://www.gopetition.com/petitions/remove-violent-decapitation-terrorist-threat-videos-off-facebook-for-good.html

    I cannot believe Facebook ‘censors’ have become so anaesthetised to stuff that they can possibly say this is not in breach of their graphic violence policy? Suspect they grew up playing too many R rated computer games!

    I think the mainstream news need to get involved for anything to happen, FB are so so arrogant, us proles have no power.

    Unless we all boycott the site in large numbers until they change their rules and do ban such links.
    (Which sadly won’t happen because we all have forgotten how to communicate properly these days and would go into withdrawal without it!!)

    The usual idiots will bleat about free speech and public interest… but this sort of clip is posted for sheer sicko voyeurism. Not other reason but to shock and distress folk.

    Posted by Niki | April 30, 2013, 5:34 am
  4. I’ve just seen the video. I believe it to be fake. I’m experienced with animal butchering and thinner bonned animals are even harder to decapitate with what looks like an old fashioned shaving razor than depicted in the video. I’m not sure if they believe it to be fake and therefore okay to keep up or what…

    On another note, I really wrote this to let you know that they changed the graphic content feature and it no longer says it prohibits harm against others. Now it just says some nonsense about letting us decide.

    I play Manhunt(Rockstar). I admit that I like gore. I like to occasionally watch withheld police videos; but I’ll be damned if we allow it to be easy to find them.

    Posted by Mimi | October 16, 2013, 5:13 am
  5. Had exactly the same thing today before I found this article. A video of a man having his head hacked off with a machete appeared on my timeline. It was sickening, it was put on by someone in Libya so I can’t say whether it was glorifying it or exposing it.

    Facebook responded that it does not violate their graphic violence policy.

    How the hell not!?!?

    Could you please e mail me if you have any further advice on this.

    My main point being the same as yours. CHILDREN could unwittingly stumble across these videos. What is wrong with these cretins at Facebook!?

    Posted by Richard | October 16, 2013, 1:53 pm
  6. i also viewed this on facebook… and it affects me so much..

    its almost a week before i can eat meat because of this video.. I’m so disgust and felt pitty to the girl..

    now I’m avoiding to think of it…

    that video hunts me from sleeping..

    hope it wil shutdown..

    Posted by greenpanda | October 23, 2013, 6:22 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Global Protest of Facebook: TRIGGER WARNING | when women were warriors - May 29, 2013

Leave a Reply

