//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The Night Before Christmas…a True Story

rainy-christmas‘Twas the night before Christmas, when all through the house
Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse.
The stockings were hung by the chimney with care,
In hopes that St. Nicholas soon would be there.
The children were nestled all snug in their beds
While visions of sugar-plums danced in their heads.

And mamma in her nightgown, and I in mine too,
Were facing a Christmas knowing all we could do
Was give a few gifts to the kids fast asleep
Because I had been laid off for almost two dozen weeks.

When out on the street there arose such a clatter,
I sprang from my bed to see what was the matter.
Away to the window I flew like a flash,
Tore open the shutters and threw up the sash.

Though I knew it was coming, I couldn’t believe
That our car was being hooked up and ready to leave.
We flew down the stairs and into the night
And gave up the car without even a fight.

The cold rain came down as I gave up my keys
And watched the man fly away like the breeze.
And after he left we sat down and cried
And from my wife I wanted to hide.

Our bills were all late and our car was now gone
And if nothing was done we’d soon lose our home.
This is something that you never think will happen to you
After all, didn’t I do everything I should do?

I worked as hard as I couldchristmas-sad-tree-400x400
To earn a good living like a father should.
And went to school to earn my degree.
How in the world did this happen to me?

I couldn’t believe I had let her down
And hid the tears on my face in her gown.
She comforted me on that cold Christmas Eve
As we sat in the dark and both had to grieve.

As the things that I owned were taken away
The work was not coming, nor was the pay.
We lied to the kids about our real plight
And they still don’t know what really happened that night.

That Christmas was bleak and that night so black.
And now I can see as I look a year back,
That it would have been easy to give in to pain
And soak in despair like the cold winter rain.

But I didn’t give in at that low point in life
I pushed on through all of the setbacks and strife.
And though it took me over a year
I found a new job and a reason to cheer.

See I met a man who saw something in me
That others had not been able to see.
He took a chance that he had no reason to take
On an unproven man with so much at stake.

And three months later as Christmas day neared
I found myself again in tears.
This time not because of pain and despair
But because of how this year compares.

As I sit here on this Christmas Eve,helpingsomeone
With my family upstairs and fast asleep,
I know that things could have gone bad
And we could have lost everything that we had.

But a good man took a chance on me

And did something that I couldn’t foresee.
He gave me a chance with no reason or rhyme
And helped us pull out of this rut, just in time.

Now the presents are wrapped and under the tree
And I’ll watch my kids open them with such glee
That just for a moment I’ll have not a care.
No pain and no heartache and no worries to bear.

But I can’t forget that night and the tears that I shed.
And now with my fortune I know I must spread
The kindness and generosity that I found
In friends and family and strangers abounds.

As Christmas passes and the year comes to an end
Keep watch for your family and strangers and friends.
You never know who will be down on their luck
And what you can do to get them unstuck.

It could be something big like giving them work
Or something so small as telling the clerk
At your local coffee shop or cafe
That you want to buy a suspended coffee today.suspendedcoffees

And if you are down, no matter how hopeless it seems
And if you feel like you’ve lost all your dreams
Just know that tomorrow may be the day
That someone will come and lead you away

To a life where your worries and heartache will end
And you’ll feel like, for once, you can finally win.
And Christmas will finally feel right
As you wish “Happy Christmas to all, and to all a good night!”

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

